Need Advice on Choosing a Career

Home Welcome to the ADDitude Forums For Adults Getting Things Done Need Advice on Choosing a Career

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  ADHDmomma 6 months, 4 weeks ago.

• Author

EmilyTheCatLady
    Participant

Hi, I’m new to ADDitude’s forum, and I’m looking for advice and/or your stories about how you chose a career with your ADD in mind. Did you choose to overcome/manage the symptoms to pursue a challenge, or decide to go with the flow and find a career that puts you in the ADD “zone?”

I’m a community college student getting close to transferring and with my ADD I have a plethora of interests yet only a few have endured my pattern of trying and quitting. My major is anthropology, which does interest me, but it doesn’t put me into my “zone” of productivity like art does. Despite my interest in anthropology and the fact that I can see gaining different career options within the field, it’s a struggle to keep myself motivated- I feel like I’m struggling against the grain to keep myself focused (a typical ADD symptom, I know). I feel like anthropology is the right choice based on practical matters- it seems more reliable/stable, has more job options, and has potential to help people, plus it’s what I’ve been interested in since childhood. Yet, it just doesn’t offer the addictive rush of the “zone” where the stars align and I feel utterly consumed by what I’m doing. It’s great being in the zone because it lets my ADD work for me instead of against me. It becomes so exhausting to struggle against ADD even with treatment.