Expectation and success

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  jkate23 1 day, 10 hours ago.

• Author

valentina__lou
    Participant

Hi, this is my first time starting a thread so I hope I’m doing this correctly aha.

I am a first year university student in the UK living away from home, I was diagnosed with ADHD at the age of 16.

Does anyone else ever feel like they do so much work and put in so much effort yet the outcome is so disappointing to yourself that you aren’t even sure where it all went wrong. I will spend hours of my time at the university building (It opens at 8am and closes at 12am) finishing work and getting organised making timetables, lists, tick sheets and reminders. It all seems to be going well then all of a sudden 3 hours have gone by and I have almost no work to show for it. Not because I haven’t worked hard but just… well I wish I knew the real reason.

I put hours and hours of work in… just as much as anyone else and my grades just seem not to reflect all my hard work… I know that sounds cliche but it really does feel like that.

Then when the work is finally finished and handed in (after the mad rush even when you plan your life so it can be finished in ample time) I never feel happy or content with my work just frustrated that… one thing wasn’t done quicker or something should have had extra work with it.

Everyone says to me I expect so much from myself and I need to give myself a break… I wish I could… i just don’t think I know how.

Is it just me?

Thank you for reading i do appreciate it

ADHDmomma
    Keymaster

You definitely do need to give yourself a break — although that is easier said than done. I think a lot of this has to do with perfectionism (which roots in anxiety).

This article outlines how to stop the emotional distress cycle:

How to Stop Those Negativity Spirals

Penny
    ADDitude Community Moderator, Parenting ADHD Trainer & Author, Mom to teen w/ ADHD, LDs, and autism

valentina__lou